Planning Committee

The Planning Committee consists of nine Members with one Member from each ward (St Mary’s ward can be represented by any Town Councillor who is either a District or County Council Member for the ward if so desired). Members of the public and non-committee Members are entitled to attend these meetings. 

Terms of reference:

  1. To respond to planning applications as a statutory consultee where they have not being delegated to the Town Clerk in liaison with the Ward Member(s).
  2. To consider and monitor Development Plans and Strategic Planning issues and proposals by statutory undertakings and to respond as a consultee to any consultation document relating to planning issues.
  3. To consider all planning aspects of development and matters of transportation within the town.
  4. To deal with such matters as may be referred to this committee by the Council.

The following councillors are members of the committee:
Cllr Emily Culverhouse
Cllr Alan Bacon
Cllr Noel Brown
Cllr Tony Franks
Cllr Peter Hudson
Councillor Jane MacBean
Councillor Roderick McCulloch
Councillor Diana Varley


All plans can be viewed on Chiltern District Council’s website:

Download the 2018 Planning Papers
You will require Adobe Reader to view these papers. Download Adobe Reader (external web site). For papers from 2008 onwards, you will be able to view the reports associated with each agenda; papers pre-2008 only include the agenda and minutes. Alternatively, hard copies can be viewed at the Town Hall office (off Baines Walk, HP5 1DS. Open Monday to Friday 10 am to 4.30 pm).

26 February 2018

Agenda and Reports ( PDF, 203 KB)

5 February 2018

Agenda and Reports  (PDF, 656 KB)

Minutes (PDF,67 KB)

15 January 2018
Agenda and Reports ( PDF, 460 KB)

Minutes (PDF,67 KB)

Download the 2017 Planning Papers

The Planning Committee supersedes the Development Control Committee, which was abolished in May 2017. You can view an archive of Development Control papers